Dinner at Olives – classy yet casual and worth every penny

31 Mar

We picked Olives in Charlestown for a Restaurant Week dinner and I can honestly say that it’s now among my top five favorite places for a fancy night out at an unpretentious place with fabulous food.

Despite the restaurant being packed and our group being half hour late, they were very accommodating. Our party of six got the center table in the front dining room – a big wooden banquet-style block that made us feel very special. The wine/drink menu was expensive but it was Friday night so what the hell…

The RW dinner menu was a nice mix of different things. My picks were the Hoison glazed pork belly, the wood grilled flat iron steak and the chocolate tart, but thanks to my friends, we all ended up tasting everything.


The pork belly was crispy and juicy with a perfectly made buttery ginger basmati rice, the steak was generous and cooked just the way I wanted it – medium rare – and was tender and tasty (most places overcook my steak which is annoying). The tart was really rich but not exceptional as a dessert, though the creme fraiche and caramel popcorn that came with it was pretty outstanding.

The lobster bisque was most outstanding with generous chunks of real lobster meat. The mushroom tart that came with my steak was areal delicacy and I’ve been dreaming of it ever since. The pork chop and cod were also very juicy and packed with flavor.

I really think each dish was cooked just right and am glad I finally got to try a Todd English restaurant. I highly recommend it for foodies and for celebrations.

I loved the open stone wall kitchen, the warm copper and wood decor and the smaller dining hall in the back. The chatter was loud and it seemed causal enough for jeans. The service was a little shoddy, though always polite but we could tell they were really busy that night. Also, the light was a little too dim for my taste

They only down side is that parking is impossible to find and valet costs $15 but given the whole experience I think it was totally worth it.

Leave a Reply

